Thomas on Talkies 10 OSCAR EDITION

Here is my predictions of the 6 biggest awards at the Oscars this year. I will review the nominations for best picture, director, actor, actress, supporting actor and supporting actress and give my who should and will win predictions.

Starting with supporting actor.
Alan Arkin- Argo
Robert DeNiro- Silver Linings Playbook
Philip Seymour Hoffman- The Master
Tommy Lee Jones- Lincoln
Christoph Walkz- Django Unchained

I have seen all 5 of these movies and these performance are all great. Arkin plays the same character in pretty much everything, but does it so well that it already won him this prize. DeNiro, well it’s Deniro. The man chews up a script and spits out excellence. Hoffman is a very underrated actor, always does an amazing job, The Master just gives him a role to show how awesome he is. Jones, delivered a wonderful emotional performance, sad it was overshadowed by another wonderful emotional performance. And Waltz was, for me, the highlight of Django.
Should win: Chrispolph Waltz
Will win: tough call here, a lot of talented actors here who the academy likes. Jones edging DeNiro.

Supporting actress.
Amy Adams- The Master
Sally Field- Lincoln
Anne Hathaway- Les Miserables
Helen Hunt- The Sessions
Jacki Weaver- Silver Linings Playbook
Let me first say that I have not seen the Sessions, so I cannot speak to Hunt’s performance. So I will focus on the other 4. I was amazed to find out that this was Adam’s 3rd nom, she doesn’t jump out as an acting powerhouse. But she did well in a very odd movie. Field handled the role of Mary Todd like only Ms Gump could. Hathaway is barely in the first 30 minutes of Les Miz, but her heart-wrenching song was the highlight of the flick. Weaver in SLP did an amazing job, I would look at her as an example of a regular parent trying to do her best with her son’s problems. She isn’t perfect, but tries her hardest.
Should win- Hathaway
Will win- Hathaway, everyone in Tinseltown seems enamored with her performance.

Best Actress.
Jessica Chastain- Zero Dark Thirty
Jennifer Lawrence- Silver Linings Playbook
Emmanuelle Riva- Amour
Quvenzhanle Wallis- Beasts of the Southern Wild
Naomi Watts- The Impossible
Here I am at a huge disadvantage, having only seen 2 of the nominated performances. I will have to rely on the buzz I have read. Wallis brings a sense of childlike wonder to an otherwise depressing and boring movie. She was the only “silver-lining” and I commend her on that. Lawrence was serviceable in SLP, I just felt she was overmatched by better performances. When on-screen with DeNiro or interacting with Cooper in a performance that takes him from a movie star to an actor, I feel an older more seasoned actress would have been better.
Should win- Quvenzhane Wallis, just to reset the record for youngest winner. She’s nine for pete’s sake.
Will win- Take your pick between who the voters are fawning over right now, Chastain or Lawrence.

Best Actor.
Bradley Cooper- Silver Linings Playbook
Daniel Day Lewis- Lincoln
Hugh Jackman- Les Miserables
Joaquin Phoenix- The Master
Denzel Washington- Flight
The only one of these I’ve missed was Flight. Cooper blew me away in SLP. He was brilliant and if not for the performance of the year, he and Jackman would be battling it out for the trophy. Jackman showed great chops by taking us on an emotional roller-coaster while singing every word. But the best of the lot is far and away Lewis as Lincoln. This guy deserves to be seen as the best of our generation. The way he immerses himself in roles is legendary. If you aren’t familiar with his entire body of work, you are doing yourself a disservice.
Should and will win- Daniel Day Lewis
Just watch the trailer for this movie and you’ll agree.

Best Director.
Michael Haneke- Amour
Benh Zeitlin- Beasts of the Southern Wild
Ang Lee- Life of Pi
Steven Spielberg- Lincoln
David O Russell- Silver Linings Playbook
Yet to see Amour or Pi, so forgive their omissions. Beasts was kind of like a documentary into the life of the people on the island, and honestly I was bored. Lincoln was SS taking a great cast, great subject and making a great movie. Which he has won gold for before (Schindler and Private Ryan) However the standout for me was Russell for SLP. Any director that can pull the performance out of Cooper that he did deserves a lifetime achievement award!!!!
Should win- Affleck, but that’s a different conversation so I’ll go with Russell
Will Win- Spielberg

Best Picture.
Amour
Argo
Beasts Of The Southern Wild
Django Unchained
Les Miserables
Life of Pi
Lincoln
Silver Linings Playbook
Zero Dark Thirty
No love from me for Amour, Pi or Zero Dark as I haven’t seen them.
Argo is an old yiddish word meaning: holy crap Affleck makes great movies. I was riveted from credits to credits and I knew how it would end. Beasts as stated above was boring. It looked amazing, but was boring. What can I say about Django. It was awesome. All of the performances gave me more respect for the actors playing them. Les Miz had some great performances, Hathaway, Cohen and Jackman, and some mediocre ones, Crowe and Seyfried. Lincoln all around amazing. SLP was good, but could have been better without the dancing subplot.
Should win- Argo
Better win after snubbing the director- ARGO!!!

I know this is a long one, thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in movie review and news. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment