Thomas on Talkies #3

Today I am watching Love Actually. I have a soft spot on my funny bone for British humor. So this movie coming from the writer of Mr. Bean & 4 Weddings and a Funeral was right up my alley. Add a great cast doing great work and you have a recipe for an awesome movie. My wife and I consider this a Christmas movie, but one to watch after the kids are in bed!!!

Quick note this movie features the future Bilbo Baggins, Rick Grimes, Davy Jones, Ferb and a whole slew of great actors.

Keep in mind I am writing this as I watch it, so sorry if it’s a bit discombobulated.

The choir singing All You Need Is Love @ the wedding is awesome, but the type of thing that only happens in movies.

Liam Neeson is a BA. He can act anything, drama, comedy or action. It’s kind of sad watching him giving his wife’s eulogy considering what happened to him later.

Every time I see Alan Rickman on screen I expect him to say, “Going somewhere Mis ter Pot ter?”

Bill Nighy steals this movie and is hilarious!!!

The one thing I fin annoying in this flick is the political subtext. Basically a hidden middle finger to GW. If you are bold enough to insult the sitting US President, don’t be coy, be a man and do it directly. But seeing as how it’s Hugh Grant standing up to Billy Bob Thornton, I guess it can’t be taken too seriously.

With the exception of The King’s Speech, does Colin Firth ever play a different person? He’s like a British Tom Hanks!!

Great use of Dido’s “Here With Me” when Elizabeth Swann finds out that Rick Grimes is in love with her.

Why does every romantic comedy feel it necessary to have a huge downs to close the second act? Why can’t people stay happily in love for 2 hours?? (Snape is a tool ) that said, really like the way the loose ends are tied up in this one. Seeing just about everyone converge on the play is really well done.

As far as rom-coms go this one is in the upper echelon. I think the writing is witty, performances excellent & direction is spot on. Definitely a rewatchable film.

Top 5: romantic lines in movies I like.
5: Just stay alive. I will find you. -The Last of the Mohicans
4: I love you. I know. -Empire Strikes Back
3: You make me want to be a better man. -As Good As It Gets
2: In the words of David Cassidy, while he was still with the Partridge Family, I think I love you. -4 Weddings and a Funeral
1: You had me at hello. -Jerry Maguire

This entry was posted in Movie reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Thomas on Talkies #3

  1. Love the As Good As It Gets and Jerry Maguire quotes at the end of this post, both are classic movies. I really liked this post, it’s well written and presents an interesting perspective. Great work. If you have a chance, check out my movie review site for some quality reviews. If you like the site, follow my blog and tell any fellow movie aficionados about it. I’ll pass along the word on your blog and this post in particular. Great work, I’ll be stopping by again. http://www.cinemasoundblog.com

Leave a comment